The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki on Blu-ray

I am so excited about the words I’m about to type.

The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki — expected to release on November 17th, 2015, and exclusively on Amazon — is a comprehensive collection of Miyazaki’s eleven feature films on Blu-ray. At $225, the set includes (with my personal favorites in bold):

  • Lupin the Third: The Castle of Cagliostro
  • Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind
  • Castle in the Sky
  • My Neighbor Totoro
  • Kiki’s Delivery Service
  • Porco Rosso
  • Princess Mononoke
  • Spirited Away
  • Howl’s Moving Castle
  • Ponyo
  • The Wind Rises (this is the only one I haven’t seen yet)

There are also a handful of cool bonuses:

  • Yuki no Taiyo (Yuki’s Sun) — A 1972 TV pilot based on a manga by Tetsuya Chiba that was directed, storyboarded and animated by Miyazaki.
  • Episodes 26, 27, and 41 of the 1972 anime series Akado Suzunosuk (Little Samurai), featuring storyboards by Miyazaki.
  • The uncut version of Miyazaki’s Retirement Press Conference.
  • A book titled The Great Dichotomy: Looking at the Works of Hayao Miyazaki by Tomohiro Machiyama.

I’ve long been hoping a Blu-ray set like this would hit U.S. shores. If you feel the same, pre-order it for $225 on Amazon.